Five Things to Pray For…Day Three!

20 Reasons We Love Indiana | Midwest Living-Indy 500

Last night my husband and I went to the races. It was definitely not as big as the races in the picture, being that we live in Idaho 😛 (but it was just as fun!). As we watched the cars go around and around, trying everything they could to get into first place, I couldn’t help but think of the race that Paul talks about.

In 1 Corinthians 9 Paul writes “24 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. 25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.”

How true is that! I don’t know much about race car driving but I’m pretty sure they need to constantly change their tires and brakes, and check to make sure their car is running good. They must go into “strict training” and practice their driving skills.

We should be doing the same; constantly checking ourselves to make sure we’re ready to continue the race towards eternal life in Heaven. We need to be checking our faith, our attitude, and our actions. We need to go into strict spiritual training as we put on the full armor of God (Ephesians 6: 10-20). As Paul says, only one gets the crown, and don’t you wanna be the one to receive that heavenly crown? I know I do! How awesome it would be to have my Father place a crown my head and say “enter good and faithful servant” (Matthew 25:23).

Of course it isn’t literal that only one person will make it to Heaven, but we mustn’t slow down and wander aimlessly, but keep our eyes towards the goal.

So tonight I pray for perseverance; I pray against apathy and wandering; I pray for my Christian brothers and sisters to finish the race strong so they can inherit the kingdom of God. God bless you my sisters in Christ!

Praise Him Always,

Justine

Leave a comment